Orkut will be officially shut down on
September 30, 2014. Until then, you can:
After Orkut shuts down on
September 30, 2014:
- You will not be able to log in to Orkut
- You will not be able to export your photo albums to Google+
- Apps, APIs, & games will no longer be available
- Public communities will be saved in a publicly viewable Community Archive
What's happening to communities?
For members
Communities that can be viewed by any Orkut member and are accessible
on the web (2 settings that are managed by each community owner) will
be saved in an archive on September 30, 2014. After September 30, you
won't be able to add new topics, comments, or polls but anyone on the
web will be able to view old discussions.
You can delete your individual posts that you don't want to be archived before Orkut shuts down on September 30, 2014.
You can delete all of your posts by removing Orkut from your Google Account. You can do this anytime, before or after Orkut shuts down. Here's how:
- Go to your Google account > click Data tools.
- Next to "Account management", click Delete products.
- Click Remove Orkut permanently. Within a few days, all your Orkut information will be deleted, including anything you posted in Orkut communities.
For community owners
If your community can be viewed by any Orkut member and is accessible
on the web (2 settings controlled by you) then we will add it to the
Community Archive.
The archive will be saved as view-only. So, anyone on the web will be
able to browse and read existing topics, comments, and polls but they
won't be able to add new topics, comments, or polls.
If you want your community included in the archive, here's what to do:
- Go to your community's homepage.
- Click Community settings on the left > Privacy and Safety.
- Click the option next to “Open - anyone can view the content of the community.”
- Check the box next to "Search engines like Google and non-Orkut users can find my community and its topics.”
- Click Save.
If you do not want your community included in the archive, here's what to do:
- Go to your community's homepage.
- Click Community settings on the left > Privacy and Safety.
- Uncheck the box next to "Search engines like Google and non-Orkut users can find my community and its topics.”
- Click Save.
Why is Orkut shutting down?
Learn more about
why Orkut is shutting down on the Orkut Blog.
FAQ
What information can I save?
You can:
What will happen to my Orkut account after Orkut shuts down on September 30, 2014?
You'll no longer be able to log in to Orkut, but you can save your photos, scraps, & testimonials using
Google Takeout until September 2016.
Can I still play games in Orkut? What will happen to my games credits?
You’ll be able to play games until Orkut shuts down. We recommend
contacting the game developer to ask if the game is going to be available on another website and what will happen to your game credits.
Can I delete my posts in the Orkut Community Archive?
You can delete your posts in communities until September 30. To delete
your posts from the Community Archive after Orkut shuts down, you’ll
need to
remove Orkut from your account, which will delete all your posts from every community.
What happens if I delete my Orkut profile before Orkut shuts down?
Your profile will be removed from Orkut. After you delete your
profile, you will not be able to download your Orkut information using
Google Takeout.
Can I transfer my profile to Google+?
Not completely, but you can
connect your Google+ profile
to your Orkut profile. This will make it easier for your Orkut friends
to find you on Google+. Connected profiles will have the same name and
profile photo and add a link to your Google+ profile on your Orkut
profile. Connecting profiles will not transfer any other data to
Google+.
Can I transfer my communities to Google+?
No, but you can
create a new Google+ community. After you create the community, you can
connect the new Google+ community
to your Orkut community. This will not transfer data to Google+, but
members of the Orkut community will see a banner asking if they want to
join the new Google+ community.
What will happen to Orkut mobile app?
You will not be able to download the Orkut app from Google Play or the
iTunes store after June 30, 2014. If you already have the app, you can
use it until September 30, 2014.
Can people still sign up for Orkut?
New Orkut accounts cannot be created after the week of June 30, 2014.
Why are you shutting down Orkut?
Learn more on the
Orkut Blog.
Export a photo album from Orkut to Google+
Orkut users who also have a
Google+ account can export their photo albums to Google+.
- Sign into your Google+ account.
- Go to http://www.orkut.com/AlbumsExport.
- Click each album you want to export or Select all.
- Click Import selected.
By default, the albums you export to Google+ will be set as private and only you will be able to see them.